“I’m Phil and you are?”

IMG_3658
Bokod – Ambuclao

I finally made it to the city of Lisbon after 2 weeks in a row without days off. Friends, this job is starting to get me down. I don’t even know how I get through with it while having multiple jobs. I’m not complaining, I’m just venting! I wish I could just sit back, relax, drinking fruit shakes and read a book, or do something else enjoyable. I wish I knew what an actual day off feels right now. I just hate it when I always make plans to do something on my day off but couldn’t follow through. Now, I was stuck here in the law firm waiting for the lawyer to arrive. When I arrived earlier, the first person I spoke to was the secretary in the front desk, who brusquely gave me a huge pile of papers and forms to fill out and return the next day, ‘Don’t Lose them’, he admonished. Seriously? I’ve been here for a couple of hours then wants me to come back tomorrow. Before I could ask any questions he was already speaking to the next client. So I have to stay outside to wait for the lawyer. It’s quarter past seven and the lawyer hasn’t arrive yet. So I decided to just go home. I wish I could come back tomorrow. I went out of the building and I took a wrong turn several times and couldn’t find the metro station. I tried to figure out where I was and realized that I’ve lost my way. The sun has set and soon it will be dark. Thankfully, It’s finally Spring so the sky is still bright at this time. And though temperatures haven’t risen too far out of the 30s yet, hope — and hotter days — are well on their way. I took my phone out from my pocket and decided to get an Uber Taxi. After few minutes of waiting, here comes the white car. Then I jumped in and the driver greeted me and asked a few questions politely. He’s fully clothed. Suit, tie, hat and a polished shoes. He’s handsome, with olive skin and eyes that looks as dark as the ocean. He is, by far, one of the most handsome men I’d ever lay my eyes on. Oh my goodness! Just looking at this man makes me feel like I am cheating with my fiancé. Nunca! I caught his eyes looking at me in the mirror and he smiled.

‘I’m Phil and you are?’ He said.
‘Jona’, and gave him a fake smile.
He started talking and I tried replying to him but ended up desperately staring at my phone, trying to give him a clear hint that I wanted to be alone with my thoughts. I needn’t have bothered; he just seemed to like the sound of his own voice, and it didn’t seem to matter whether I responded or not.

‘You know what Jona I have a good idea. Would you like to come with me? I can be your travel buddy. I can take you to a Safari Park that can be found in a 3700 hectare island. I can take you to a beach and you’d feel like prolicking in the Bahamas or a luxurious and private get-away in Maldives. Or if you want to visit China I can take you to the World’s Oldest chinatown. I can take you to Spain as well. We can take a walk on the street early in the morning like 6 or 7 so we could have a selfie with no distractions or photobombers. Or we could just go for a pint in a bar during the night. Or if you want to go to Greece I can take you to Santorini. I know a nice resort there or if you want to take a selfie in the Acropolis in Athens we can go there as well. I can also take you to New Zealand if you want hilly and mountanious landscape. Oh Madre Mía! Just the thought of it makes me feel hungry right now. If you are a food lover, I can offer you different kinds of foods that you’ll surely love and…’
‘Phil, sorry to interrupt you but just drop me off here thanks’, I said because I don’t want to listen to his litany and obviously, I don’t want him to see my place.
‘Oh, Would you like to have a cup of coffee first and chat about my offer? It is still early though’, He says trying to persuade me. ‘I still have a lot to say and need to explain it better. Trust me, everything will be alright’, he added.
‘Sorry but I am not interested. Is that enough?’ I say it with more peevish tone this time. He laughs warmly and he stopped the car in the gasoline station close to my place. Perfect! I need’nt to walk too far to get there. I get out of the car hurriedly and shut the door. Fortunately, the fare is automatically charged to my credit card so no more hassle on paying with cash.
‘Oh! and by the way. The place I am talking about is Philippines’, he said as he smiled and drove away. I too smiled as I watched him turn the corner. I left there standing with tears welling up in my eyes. It begins to blur my vision. My heart was full of tears too. As I walk, I realized that Philippines has a lot to offer. But I was so focused on my dreams that I forgot about my own country. I started to cry out loud. After some time, I came back to my senses. I woke up suddenly when the alarm clock went off. I realized that it was only a dream.

Yes Indeed! Philippines has a lot to offer. It has been my dream to travel to the best beautiful tourist destinations all over the world. But when I met foreigners and whenever they find out that I am from the Philippines, the never ending praises goes on about how beautiful my country is. The ugly truth is, I am a tourist in my own country. I think it’s time for me to travel and see the beauty of Philippines. So the next time I meet another traveler who has seen the Philippines, I would no longer be ignorant on my own country. Whether in a dream or in real life.

You might be surprised to know that there are places in the Philippines that closely resemble some international destinations and who knows maybe you’ll find them to be as amazing as the original.
Here’s a link if you want to explore some of the impressive local alternatives: https://www.buzzfeed.com/isabellelaureta/san-ka-pa?utm_term=.pwYV2n94z

xoxo jona4463

Author: fortyfoursixtythree

Aspiring writer, dreamer and a wife to be.

2 thoughts on ““I’m Phil and you are?””

Leave a Reply

